CROYDON BOROUGH SWIMMING ASSOCIATION 2025 MEMORIAL AWARDS

The Croydon Borough Swimming Association (CBSA) operates as a volunteer-led organisation, driven by a small committee with the aim of nurturing swimming within the Borough. A key responsibility of the CBSA is to oversee the annual swimming championships, which serve to promote and organise competitive swimming events.

Participation is open to swimmers from local Croydon clubs as well as residents of the Borough.

Each year the CBSA presents two special awards, at the discretion of the CBSA Committee, in acknowledgement of the most outstanding performance by a female athlete and an open/male athlete - under the age of 16 years old - at the previous year's Championships.

The award presented to open/male athletes is named for and in memory of John Berkley.

Historically, the award presented to female athletes was named for and in memory of Ethel Rogers.

With effect from 2025, the female award will be named for and in memory of Mrs. Anne Reader.

Anne devoted so much of her life to Swimming in the Borough. Anne was a Life Member of the Croydon Borough Swimming Association and also Croydon Amphibians SC.

As a young swimmer she was a member of Croydon Ladies SC which then joined with Amphibians SC to become what is now Croydon Amphibians, She was an active Masters swimmer into her 70's.

Anne was a great supporter of all swimming in the Borough for the majority of her life and we are pleased to make this award in her name.

The 2025 Memorial Awards were presented during the 2025 Annual Championships and Age Group Competition by Mr. Ray Reader – widower of Mrs. Anne Reader and himself a long-term contributor and supporter of swimming in Croydon.

We are delighted to announce that this year – 2025 – the recipient of the John Berkley Memorial Award is...

Harry Choudhury of Croydon Amphibians



We are equally delighted to announce that this year – 2025 – the recipient of the inaugural Anne Reader Memorial Award is...

Tarryn Lewis of Croydon Amphibians



Presenting our 2025 Memorial Award Winners....

